• Home


Express Entry is the quickest way to immigrate to Canada. But, that doesn’t necessarily mean everybody can immigrate to Canada through Express Entry. This guide will help you understand if Express Entry is the best way for you and your family, if applicable, to settle in Canada.

Express Entry is an application management system used by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to manage and process applications received through three of Canada’s federal economic immigration programs for skilled workers.

What are the types of Canada Immigration Express Entry Programs?

Since there are different levels of skilled workers, the Government of Canada designed four different programs within the Express Entry. These programs are otherwise known as economic immigration programs because they attract skilled workers which improve and develop the economy of Canada. These programs are as follows:

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP)
  • Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP)
  • Canadian Experience Class (CEC)
  • Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)

Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP)

The Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP) is designed for all skilled workers with foreign work experience to immigrate to Canada. It requires a high level of language proficiency in English or French (Level 7), as well as an occupation which falls into management jobs, professional jobs that require a university degree or technical jobs or trades that require a college diploma or apprenticeships. Finally, it also requires one year of continuous work experience in the specific occupation within the last 10 years.

Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP)

The Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) is designed for skilled workers in specific trades who have work experience in a foreign country. It requires a Level 5 or 4 of language proficiency in English or French, an occupation that falls into the technical jobs which require a college diploma or apprenticeship and 2 years of work experience within the last 5 years. Additionally, those who apply must have a valid job offer from a Canadian company and a certificate which proves that they possess a high level of skill in their trade.

Canadian Experience Class (CEC)

Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is designed for skilled workers who have work experience within Canada. They must have a Level 5 or 7 in language proficiency in English or French and have an occupation that falls into management jobs, professional jobs, or technical jobs. They must also have one year of work experience in Canada in the last 3 years.

Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)

Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) is a program designed for the provinces of Canada so that they nominate and select particular skilled workers which fulfill their needs. The applicant that is invited to apply must then live and work in the province which nominated and sponsored them. The program is managed by the provinces and only uses the Express Entry portal to receive profiles online.